Take That, Physics!

I think I may have overcome an overwhelming amount of inertia, and found a plan. The sun is shining here in Charleston (yes!), and despite the fact that I reeeeally want to stay inside and read blogs and watch t.v. and nap, I have made an appointment to rent a bike from a place that will deliver the bike to my hotel and then pick it up four hours later when I’m done. Our hotel is on the central peninsula of historic Charleston, but it’s about a 30 minute walk from anything worth seeing. So. A bike seems like a really good plan. There’s a lot of scenic areas within a close walk, once you are down there, but driving and trying to find parking is nearly impossible on a Saturday, and the idea of hiking over there and then hiking more to get to and from various places does not seem like such a great plan. Especially as…

my period decided that today was the day to show up in full force. Oh, the cramps. Oh, the exhaustion (having nothing to do with the two and a half beers I drank last night, of course, and the fact that we didn’t make it to bed until 11:30 p.m. after waking up at six-ish yesterday…). Oh, the mess. Here’s hoping this is the last period EVER (er, at least for the next year or so…).

So, I’m going to do a little searching online for a good vegetarian restaurant for lunch downtown, and then meet the guy in the lobby to get my bike at around 11:15, and then head out. That’s the perfect solution for me to get a little exercise, some fresh air, eat some lunch, take some photos, find a spot to just sit for a bit and relax, and then have the bike back here by 3:15. And since H’s conference is out at 4:30-ish, I should even have time to rest at the hotel for a while before picking him up.

This evening, we’re supposed to meet up again with H’s groomsman/wife and this time (last night was a beer bar called Gene’s Haufbrau- excellent beer selection), we are going to a shack on Folly Beach that serves fried seafood, and afterwards, we’ll find something else to do (maybe walk on the beach for a bit, or head to this tiki bar they recommended last night- who knows?).

So. Kate has conquered lethargy! (Or at least she has plans to!)

And what will your weekend hold?

.

This entry was posted in travels. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Take That, Physics!

  1. Your plan sounds lovely. And I'm sure it will make you feel better.What's nice to see is that you're rolling with the punches. (Note change b/w last post and this one.) I think that's really the key to surviving IF and IVF.(And by the way, you totally have my sympathy over the cysty-body situation described in your last post. I didn't know that could happen, and it sounds like it totally blows.)So bleeding today, stims next week? You're on your way, girl!

  2. Photogrl says:

    Oh, and I really, really don't like "Nurse That's-Not-A-Side-Effect".Just sayin'

  3. Photogrl says:

    I'm so glad to see the cycle will go forward! Yay for the Effin' cyst to be non-functional! :)Double Yay for the sun to be shining in Charleston! I love that city, and I think a bike to get around is an awesome idea. Folly Beach is just beautiful, too.As for me, I'll be cleaning. The sun is shining here, and I'm hoping to finish quickly, take Miss O. on a walk at the park, and *gasp* even take a few pictures.Enjoy your weekend!

  4. jill says:

    Hope you had a great bike ride and a yummy lunch and dinner 🙂 I'm hoping with you that this is your last period for a long time! That would be so awesome!My weekend has been great so far. Went jogging this afternoon, then took C for a swedish massage (belated bday present) and of course I had one too, then R and I went out to eat and the food was wonderful. I have a lot of work to do tomorrow so I'm dreading it and trying to make the most of what's left of today.Hope your forward motion continues! 🙂

  5. I love your plan! Way to get out and fight the cramps and such!Enjoy your weekend, I can't wait to see all the lovely pictures you will take. I'll be getting my pedicure tomorrow. I'm both dreading it and looking forward to it. Hopefully there will be no surprises and we'll enjoy ourselves.*HUGS*

  6. Melis.sa says:

    ohhh your day sounds perfect!! (minus AF, but you needed her to come to start THE cycle, so woot for her too!)I hope you find some exquisite sights to take pictures of and that there is enough of a breeze to keep you cool while you bike 🙂

Leave a Reply

