Quickie update

Home from the aspiration… Other than some pretty intense “pressure”, the procedure was fine. They drained a substantial amount of fluid from this 3 cm cyst as I saw in the container they left out on the cart, into which they had squirted the fluid after sucking it out (gross. really, really gross.). But it was actually really cool to watch while the cyst collapsed down to almost nothing as the fluid drained out.

Anyhow, I am high as a kite from the Tylenol 3 and Valium they gave me, but I am aware enough to remember that I am to start stims on Friday evening (YESSS! Did I ever think I’d be excited to start injecting myself with the crazy-making drugs? Probably not, but here I am anyhow.), and then I will go in Tuesday morning for a follicle check and blood work.

It’s really happening. It’s like with each new phase, I am just awed by the fact that this is all really happening, that even if this cycle fails, I am at least far, far closer to actually getting knocked up than I ever have been in the past. Something about that is comforting, I think.

So now, I’m about to plow through a Little Cheeseburger from Five Guys (Do you have Five Guys where you live? I think it’s an East Coast thing… But if you don’t, then boy, am I sorry for you. Spectacularly drippy yummy burgers and hand cut homemade-style fries. Yum, yum, yum.), while laying on the couch watching the BBC Pride and Prejudice on DVD. I’m starting to have some lower abdominal pinching, but luckily, I’ve got plenty of the narcotics to knock it down if it gets out of hand.

Yeah. I survived. On to the next phase!

This entry was posted in ivf #1. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quickie update

  1. Heck, yes, my friend. HECK YESSSSSS!!So glad it went well and you are starting stims on Friday. That is as exciting as hell, dude!I'm jealous of Five Guys even though I've never heard of it until just now, and BBC P&P sounds like just the thing for a day like today.

  2. JJ says:

    So glad to hear you are in low amounts of pain–whoohoo Valium–and that it went well–AND that you get to start the cycle! YIPPEE!!

  3. I am glad that the procedure went well and heartened to hear it's not that painful (with the good drugs, at least). I hope you are enjoying your recovery on the couch, I love BBC's version of Pride and Prejudice!Thanks for stopping in on my blog to lend some support.

  4. Melis.sa says:

    I'm glad everything went well today!!woot for the delicious, delicious sounding burger (don't have those in MN or WI as far as i know) and the meds to keep you level.WOOT WOOT FOR FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. jill says:

    Glad to hear your aspiration was bearable. Hopefully you don't experience any further pain at all. (not sure how likely that is but I'm hoping!)That just sucks about H's meeting on your bday. How disappointing.I'm so excited for you to start stims! One step closer to "the dream" is nothing to snort at. Yay!We have Five Guys near us and I agree – yum! I always get a little cheeseburger with grilled mushrooms and sometimes onions. And their fries, oh so good! We split an order and R is not a huge fan so I get more than my share. hahaThank you so much for your "cheerleading" on my blog. It helps a lot to know someone else has been in similar shoes. I'm determined to stick to this and am making my new mini-goal to be running regularly for 4 months.Finally, Happy blogiversary! I hope you keep up the blogging because I really enjoy reading šŸ™‚

  6. I wish I had some good drugs right about now, but I don't have a valid reason. I'm glad it went well and am wishing you happy stimming! We got a 5 Guys this summer, my DH loves it.(Thank you for your comments. I have osteoarthritis in my hips [I know, old lady disease] so running is questionable. I started a while back and then stopped, I'm not sure why. I hope this time I stick with it and it doesn't hurt too badly. I miss being healthy.)

  7. Ellen K. says:

    WOOOHOO for Valium! Glad everything went well, and hey, happy birthday!!!!

Leave a Reply

