Thirty Six Weeks

Holy McMoly! Thirty six weeks! Insanity!!

And a week since I’ve last posted! I don’t mean to worry anyone. I know how it is when your bloggy friends are in the end stages of pregnancy and they don’t post for a few days and you think, “OH! I wonder if they’ve gone into labor!!” But sorry to disappoint, the boys are still in and cooking. I have been having long telepathic discussions with them regarding their desire to make an appearance (Really. No, really, you can come out whenever you’d like.), but so far, I just get teasing giggles back in response. Nope, they say. We’ll come out when we darn well please, and no, we won’t give you any idea of when…

Sigh.

I got all excited this weekend because I had a series of contractions (back labor. Awesome as it sounds.) that were lasting around 45-60 seconds, and coming every 5-6 minutes, but after about 45 minutes or so, they went away completely, and haven’t really shown up again since then. I have been excessively tired lately, but that may have something to do with the fact that I don’t sleep for more than an hour or so at a time. It’s the same old refrain: I ache. I’m tired. My hands hurt. My feet are so swollen they’re numb. I cannot ever get comfortable.

Now, though, I get to add this new complaint: Not only do I have tiny, itchy bumps on my belly (thanks, PUPPPS!), but I also have a generalized all over itchiness with an as-yet-unknown cause. Benad.ryl doesn’t seem to stop it (though it does help a bit with the tiny PUPPPS bumps), and it’s really quite maddening. And aside from the itching, my sinuses have begun to really swell. H and I may have to start sleeping in different beds, because otherwise, I may kill him. Last night, he decided that there was no other option but to WAKE ME UP to tell me that I was snoring. He, of course, knew full well how incredibly hard it is for me to fall asleep and stay asleep. And he knew that there was literally nothing I could do about the snoring. He knew that I had swollen sinuses that were (again) not aided by Benadr.yl, and that I have 300 lbs of baby belly (well, something like that…) pressing on my lungs, that I cannot breathe easily right now, that there is no position in which I am comfortable, etc. But still. Apparently, the snoring got so bad that he had no other option but to wake me and tell me that I was snoring. Even though there was nothing I could do to remedy that, other than to NOT be asleep. Yeah, thanks, darling…

I mean, I know it’s hard on him. And I know that in the middle of the night, one’s sense of logic as applied to alleviating the raucous-log-sawing going on a few inches from one’s face isn’t as keen as it might be in daylight hours. But seriously. If there’s nothing I can do about it, short of giving up sleep altogether, I think the onus is on him to make himself comfortable. Sigh. I’m really not upset about it, I promise. I just remember the first thought that crossed my mind at 4 a.m. when he decided to wake me was ‘this mother-f^cker has done LOST HIS DAMN MIND… I’m gonna BOX HIS FOOL EARS’ (yes, I revert to full Texanism when less-than-conscious…). Anyway, I’m thinking earplugs. Or sleeping in another room. Not sure what else to do.

I think you’ve waited long enough. Here is the weekly photo update:

Thirty Six Weeks
Bigger and bigger still…

Thirty Six Weeks (out, out, out...)
Don’t let the serene look fool you. The thought bubble should read, “Outoutoutoutoutoutoutoutout.”

In other news, I love my dentist. I called yesterday because I had a chip or a filling or something that came out over the weekend, and he managed to work me in this morning after I pleaded that I was 36 weeks pregnant and could possibly give birth ANY DAY NOW (yeah, I go for the hyperbole on occasion…). So, I got my tooth refilled this morning. He’s a badass, took only 20 minutes or so, and also managed to buff/adjust my crown a little (and not charge me for it) so that I wouldn’t have to come back for another appointment. Score!

Lastly, just because I like to save the drama for last, I’ve been typing this up all while waiting to head to my OB’s office, because I’ve been feeling crummy today: Dizzy, extra swollen, crazy dizzy, mildly crampy, dizzy, tired, itchy, etc. And so I hopped over to the local pharmacy to check my blood pressure, and it was 168/108. Granted, the last time I checked my BP on this same machine, it was 20 points higher than it was at my doctor’s office once I got there, so it may be that this machine is just jacked, but all the same, better safe than sorry, right?

I promise I will update later regardless. I’m sure it’s nothing, blah, blah, platitude, etc.

But yeah. Headed out to the doctor now!

This entry was posted in O.B.ullshit, preggo. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thirty Six Weeks

  1. Tara says:

    Yay! You're in the last throes of pregnancy. Hang in there. You can make it. You still look wonderful! But at the same time, boys, if you want to choose an earlier birthday, Mom won't mind. Those people who say sleep while you can because once the baby gets here you never will, have obviously never been pregnant with twins in the third trimester. Do whatever you need to do to get comfortable. H be damned.I, too, had the itching that was not PUPPS related. If it's not too late, ask your doctor to test for cholestasis, a backup of liver bile. You may not want to google because it sounds more scary than it is. Especially since it's somewhat uncommon but 2 of the leading causes are a multiples pregnancy and IVF. My numbers weren't high enough for a diagnosis but they put me on a steroid anyway because the itching was unbearable and benadryl did nothing. I still have scars on my arms and legs.And eek, glad you're headed to the OB. Be sure to update. Do you have a "labor buddy"? (Ugh, I hate that term.) Someone to update the blog when the boys arrive. I volunteer but our computer is only on M-F during the day (ie, when Nav's at work) so I may not be the best person for the job. Hope all is alright. And no need to worry about a handwritten thank you. You have more than enough going on. I'm just glad you like everything.

  2. Photogrl says:

    Happy 36 weeks! Yay, yay, YAY!!!I hope the boys decide to make an appearance soon…You look beautiful, as always!I've been telling M. that I'm not too far from sleeping downstairs in the recliner. For me, it's HIS snoring and the fact that it's getting harder and harder to get out of bed to pee 5 times a night.Sounds like a good idea to head to the OB…I'll be thinking about you and boys!

  3. Sue says:

    Won't be much longer now. Hope your BP checks out OK at the OB's office. I'll be thinking of you….

  4. Melis.sa says:

    I hope everything is okay with your BP! You look great!!and LOL to your dh. that is so irritating!! 🙂 and yet it's a great story, ah men..

  5. amy says:

    Hooray! So happy you updated! You seriously look aamazing, even though you're obviously uncomfortable. Hope your drs appt goes well today and your bp is fine- unless your body agrees on the outoutoutout thoughts and is making it known. If you want me to update for you when you're in labor, I'd be happy to! Let me know.

  6. PJ says:

    I was worried about you!Hah! You look so much like me! None of my shirts fit, and forget trying to hide the panal thing on my pants. Thirty six weeks, SO AWESOME for twins! Yay!We're in the home stretch! Scary AND exciting…Hey, make sure you tell your OB about that blood pressure, as in call them and tattle on yourself. The nurse that I have to speak with everyday for monitoring is giving me a hard time for anything 140/90, which is where I'm hovering right now. Look up the signs for preeclampsia.Woot! 36 weeks!

  7. PJ says:

    Oh, and the sleeping! OMG, the sleeping is so friggin' uncomfortable! My bones and joints and everything just ache, and turning over is this monumental thing that leaves me huffing and puffing for breath. Holy crap!

Leave a Reply

