Not Dead Yet!

Internet Friends:

1. My in-laws are in town from Germany to meet their grandsons for the first time. This is wonderful, but also time-consuming.

2. I have become increasingly paranoid about being blog-outed again, and thus, I rarely log in to WordPress or Blogger or any other blog-host software when my guests are around (or while I was in the presence of family while traveling), just to be on the safe side, were a stray eye to look over and catch a glimpse of my screen name or whatnot.

3. Traveling is exhausting. Hosting guests (even if they aren’t staying at your house) is exhausting. Settling back into a as-yet-undetermined routine is exhausting. Babies who DON’T SLEEP are exhausting.

4. The babies (despite sleep-protesting) are actually beginning to nap somewhere besides on me. The newfound freedom is intoxicating.

5. I feel so behind in life, I fear I may never catch up. (I’m still trying to unpack from a trip that ended a full 11 days ago…)

6. I just got back from the doctor, and the pain in my back that has been shouting louder and louder and louder is, as it turns out, scoliosis. Awesome.

7. Add a dash of tendonitis in my shoulder (if by “dash”, I mean “HEAPING MASSIVE PILES”), and that’s where you find me now.

Accounts of my death have been greatly exaggerated. That’s the quote, isn’t it?

Anyhow, all of this is to explain why I am reading (I promise, promise, promise!), but commenting has been scarce, due to the need to log in and leave said comment, and time to write said comment (one of these days, I might be able to become one of those drive-by “U rock!” comment leavers, but for now, I just can’t bring myself to not be personal in my commenting), and the searing pain that occurs when I lift my left hand higher than my navel.

Bear with me. Things should be settling down sometime around the 17th when the in-laws depart and H returns to work. I have so much to say, but not much time and energy in which to say it. But for now, it’s snowing and pretty and we’re having BLTs for dinner (my GOD, I love a good BLT) and Jack just woke up from his nap, so I should go live some life (so I’ll have something to blog about, eh?). I will be back– your patience is appreciated.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not Dead Yet!

  1. melissa says:

    mmm enjoy your BLT’s and your IL’s!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. jill says:

    Life sounds crazy ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope the pain eases up for you soon. Did the dx come with a plan to help the pain?

  3. VA Blondie says:

    Glad to hear you are doing well. Hope the tendonitis does not get too bad for you. That does not sound like fun.

  4. JJ says:

    Um. I suck. I just re-read your message to me on FB–Im so sorry I didnt take you up on your offer! Uggh. So lets try again and get together after your visitors have gone–and you have time to recoup ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. strongblonde says:

    so glad to hear that things are okay ๐Ÿ™‚ i’ve been wondering. hopefully you’ll have great updates, soon!

  6. Claire says:

    Even in the face of all this pain and IL exhaustion you manage to be funny! Yay, you!

  7. kimbosue says:

    we’ll be waiting for you!

  8. Tracy says:

    U Rock!

    ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Have you ever had a cortisone shot for your shoulder? Did the trick for me a number of years back, and it seemed to decrease the inflammation just long enough that I healed. No problems since. Of course it probably helps that I don’t have a desk job anymore.
    Hope you feel better…

    You WILL get back into a routine. Don’t worry. Just hang tight and ride it out.

  9. Tara (TIMO) says:

    Yay! Totally understand! Yes, yes, yes, yes! Yay! You will! Yuck! Ugh! And now I want BLTs. Enjoy your break. I’m on one too and it’s refreshing.

  10. Ellen K. says:

    Mmmm, BLT….

    Taking care of twins really does a number on your upperbody. I had to go to acute care last winter because of a strained trapezius. The doctor said, “You need to get more sleep.” Thanks for the tip!

    Hope you can manage your condition without too much hassle with childcare, etc.

Leave a Reply

