Simmer Down!

Ah, my little buddy-babies. That title is for you. Along with all the developmental leaps and bounds you’re making, you just never settle down. Never. You’re no longer content to keep nursing as I pull up a blog page. You’re all, “OOH. WHAT’S THAT? CAN I PUT IT IN MY MOUTH?”

And no, darlings, you may not put my friends’ blogs in your mouth. Sorry.

Ah, well. I’m getting through my Google Reader, bit by bit. I have approx. 130 posts bookmarked that I want to come back to and comment on. I got through ten today while they napped. I’m getting to all of you, I promise. I’d just wipe the Reader and call it a loss, but there are such important things going on in everyone’s lives and I have things I want to share about it. It’s happening, it’s just slow.

In the mean time, thank you for your comments and commiserations on the sleeping stuff. I really can’t wait for them to sleep better. That’s probably been my biggest thing since they were born. I just need sleep, and it just isn’t happening.

I did manage to survive my first serious-knock-you-down illness as a twin mama. H and I both got a vicious stomach virus plus respiratory symptoms that landed me in the ER on Sunday afternoon (due to the horrid cramping I was having, I seriously thought I might have either a bad ovarian cyst or an ectopic– yeah, an infertile husband and a tubal ligation and nursing twins, and I somehow still thought it could be pregnancy-related. HAH.) Luckily, it wasn’t influenza, just a really bad virus, that very luckily passed during the late evening Sunday. So glad I exposed myself, my husband and my infant twins to the emergency room. Awesome.

Lastly, I really, really need to post more often. I’ve gotten so lazy, and I sometimes wonder if I’ll ever post something that isn’t a complaint. So, in an effort to remedy that, I’m putting this here so I won’t forget: I want to take a picture a day of both boys by themselves for the month of February. And I’d like to make them GOOD pictures, too, not just especially sweet snapshots. I figure this has the dual purpose of capturing a slice of life with the babies, but also getting me back in the habit of my hobby. And so, you know, I can also post them here and remark on them and thus get back to blogging more regularly, too.

So. Is that a belated New Years resolution? Perhaps.

And now, the beasts have been held off as long as possible. Back again soon with remarks on Thrush The Fourth and my first post-partum period (NURSING TWINS. WTF, body…), and, of course, the much belated seven-month update.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Simmer Down!

  1. melissa says:

    ooh, sorry to hear that you and H caught something this weekend, crappy way to end the weekend!

    Can’t wait to see more pictures of the boys 🙂

    I don’t remember sleeping well until E was maybe 18 months? And now that’s a distant memory since she’ll be 4 this spring. Maybe for mother’s day you can rent a hotel room and just pass out for 24 hours?? 😉

  2. Amy says:

    Ugh. I live in fear of getting my period. I will be SO PISSED.

    Sorry about the bug. I took to bed Monday and basically slept all day with the boys- I’m lucky in that they’ll pretty much sleep as long as I’m holding them- and it seemed to chase away whatever I was fighting (I had a fever but it was the day after a 10-day course of prophylactic tamiflu). It sucks that you can’t sleep. Could you maybe pay someone for 1 night of help?…

    Wish we lived near each other! I’d love to help you.

  3. Esperanza says:

    I have to say, I didn’t respond to your sleep post because I feel like you approach sleep so differently that I do, don’t really know what to say. We didn’t do co-sleeping and we used sleep training when Isa was four months. She is such a great sleeper now but I know we did things differently than you want to so I don’t really know what to say. I would expect they would eventually become better sleepers, but my MIL says her kids didn’t sleep through the night until they were four. I’m assuming this is an exaggeration but who knows. I hope they do get better at sleeping and that you are able to find some must needed rest.

    I can’t believe you’ve bookmarked all those posts for comments! You are ambitious! Did you see that I commented on your Creme de la Creme post? I am trying to read and comment on all of the posts there in 100 days. We shall see if I succeed. It’s hard because sometimes I just don’t know what to say. But I guess it’s not always what you say, but that you take the time to say it.

    I can’t wait to see the pictures! Your boys are so cute.

  4. Tara (TIMO) says:

    Eww, sorry for the sickness. Glad to hear you’re on the mend though. I actually jumped over asking you not to stress yourself over commenting on my posts (I totally get that you can’t just mark all as read. I can’t do it either.) but you beat me to the punch. But if you do have the time I’d love a passing hug on my current post (that I just wrote while you were commenting it seems). There’s a chance Nav will deploy for 6 months at the end of February and we just found this out today! Needless to say I’m a bit overwhelmed and could just use a hug, as virtual as it would be. Thanks!

  5. jenn says:

    Glad the illness is going away- it is no fun being sick with 1 toddler who can at least somewhat communicate- 7 month old twins- yikes!!!

    And so unfair- nursing twins for 7 months- wtf body indeed?! (although- having not had mine for well over a year postpartum and then only having 5 or 6 before 2.0 surprised us is mainly the reason I had ~no clue~ so who knows… could be a blessing in disguise? just looking for a silver lining for you!)

  6. strongblonde says:

    omg. you guys were both sick at the same time? that totally sucks. it’s hard enough without being sick!! at least it was (fairly) short lived, right? hopefully that covers you until the elementary school years so that won’t happen again.

    wow! a period?? i still have not had one. in fact, i was just thinking the other day that it has been over 2 years. the last period i had was right before “the” ivf cycle. i could get used to this, lol. 🙂

    can’t wait to see more pictures of the boys. they’re super cute! ….and it’s hard, but i need to get better about separate pictures, too!! xx

  7. Claire says:

    I lived in dread of the stomach flu before Isobel and with no kids in my life I avoided it fairly well. Now I know we are going to get more illnesses with being around kids and their parents at play groups and day care, etc. Ugh! I hate the thought. But hey I only have one baby to take care of so I should count myself lucky!
    I’m sorry you all got to go to the ER – ugh!
    I must have missed your post on sleep – gotta check it out. I am also not getting much sleep but again, just one baby so I can’t complain!

  8. beauitful0mess says:

    Oh man! Sick with babies is NO fun! Hopefully it ends with you and H.

    Tell those sweet little boys that because of you allowing me to use them on my project, I got an A on it and in the class, so they need to sleep for you. That’s how they can thank me and you 🙂

    Sending you all sleepy vibes!
    *HUGS*

  9. kimbosue says:

    BOO to mama and dada getting it at the same time.

    My first AF post-delivery was a B.I.A!!

  10. Sweet pea-you are a lot of things. Lazy? Not so much. I cannot believe you are still nursing them-that’s AWESOME! (unless it’s not and then you should stop : )
    Blog when you can. Or don’t. We’ll still be here ’cause we love ya.’

Leave a Reply

