Day Thirteen and Fourteen

And so, Saturday night was much better for sleep. And then Sunday night was terrible (though not as terrible as Friday). And then Monday night was better again.

I don’t know. I have a doctor’s appointment today to discuss back issues I’m having (physical therapy hasn’t been all that successful, but that’s probably because I cannot stop re-injuring my back by lifting my just-shy-of-20-lbs babies…), and I plan to also discuss with her whether or not something like Ambien might be appropriate. I know you can take it while breastfeeding, but I’m concerned about the co-sleeping factor. Lately, though, Henry has been sleeping next to H on a separate mattress (sometimes), which means that Jack doesn’t have to sleep so close to me, which makes me much less worried about whether I would sleep too deeply and possibly hurt him or something. Still. I need to know more about it’s side-effects. At this point, I need to be out of pain in order to sleep, and I need to sleep (restfully) in order to be out of pain. So maybe it will be the impetus to really try getting Jack to sleep in the sidecarred crib so that I can have my side of the bed to myself again and still be able to tend to him at night.

I don’t know. I just don’t know.

Anyhow, here are photos from days thirteen and fourteen. I got some great shots yesterday. It was almost hard to pick which ones to post (which is why I posted so many!).

Here is Day Thirteen:

These photos are not really fitting with my plan for the month (photos more than snapshots), but we spent our Sunday having a really relaxing day, and most of these shots didn’t come out so well, but since their expressions so clearly show how much fun we were having, I just decided that Day 13 would just have to be a day for snapshots. So, here they are…

Jack-a-jack
Jack on the swing!

Henny
Henry on the swing!

My Guys
Watching the other children leave the park (they are so fascinated by other children…)

Mama And Babies
(GASP. Who’s that lady there? It’s MAMA, out from behind the camera! Weird!)

And a quick video:

Swingin’ babies!

Day Fourteen:

Snacking On Blocks
Jack, eating a block

Henry Smooshy Cheeks
Smooshy-cheek Henry

Playful
Playful Jack

Henry
Sweet Henny

Playing Blocks
Boys playing together

Jack Giggling
Jack laughing

Henry
Henry darling

Sly Little Monkey
Sly Jack

Inside Joke
Laughing together

And that’s Thirteen and Fourteen… halfway through!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day Thirteen and Fourteen

  1. Esperanza says:

    Be careful with Ambien. While I have heard of people who like it, I’ve also heard of people who (a) took apart their sink, (b) ran up crazy credit card debt, (c) ate small parts of their roommate’s food, (c) dumped milk over the head, while on it. I’ve also heard it gives you CRAZY dreams. Have you thought of melatonin? I’ve heard good things about that.

    • Hey, Kait– You’re right. This is one of my concerns about Ambien. I’ve thought about melatonin, but I’ve heard it can mess with supply. Luckily, my doc is a straight shooter, and she’ll tell me if there’s anything else I can take to address the pain/sleeplessness issues. We’ll see what she has to say this afternoon… Take care (and as always, thanks for taking the time to comment– I really appreciate it!), Kate

  2. Tara (TIMO) says:

    I’m jealous of your swing pics. One of the neighborhood hooligans cut the only infant swing in half and the HOA won’t replace it. Apparently it’s a common occurance around here. Both laughing pictures are the greatest.

  3. Angela says:

    Melatonin is pretty awesome, but I don’t know about it being safe while breastfeeding. Ambien made me hallucinate/ become very dizzy. It sure helps you sleep though. I have some left over from pregnancy but refuse to use it because I’m afraid I might put one of the boys in the fridge or something!

    Love the pictures of your boys smiling at each other. It just warms my heart. I am a twin mama to 3 week old boys, and it’s nice to see a light at the end of the tunnel and what fun little boys can be!

  4. loribeth says:

    My cousin’s wife had quite an experience with Ambien. She was in the car with her teenaged son & starting acting quite erratically. He managed to get her to pull over & call for help. Scared the crap out of the poor kid. Be careful!

    The boys are adorable, as usual!! I find it hard to realize that the park photos were taken NOW, when I see green leaves & kids without coats — & then look out my window at the snow on the ground. Green leaves in February just does not compute in my world. ; ) Although we’re having a mild spell right now & a lot of it is melting. ; ) But we had windchills of something like -28 Celsius last week. Brrrr.

Leave a Reply

