Mini Update



Henny Stands!!, originally uploaded by k8izgr8.

I’m still working on the Just Jack post, but for now, here’s a little video of Henry, who has finally (FINALLY) figured out how to stand on his own. He is really enjoying standing and sitting (and standing and sitting and standing and sitting…), and also enjoying the applause he gets for performing his “trick”.

Things are busy here. Busy, but good. The weather here is making me a little crazy– thunderstorms, drenching rain, all day, every day, all week– but at the same time, I have a very hard time complaining about it when I’m very worried for friends and family in the Austin area who are surrounded by immense drought and wildfires. I’ve been working on my mind-control of weather, but, you know, it’s just not working yet. So instead, I sit here whining about how annoying all the crazy rain is while my friends beg for just a few drops to help put out the fires, to quench the parched land.

Very luckily, my parents seem to be safe for now, although their land in Bastrop is pretty much wiped clean (there wasn’t much of anything there to start with– just trees and some old mustang grape vines– so luckily, there wasn’t much to lose). Others we know have lost so much more, though again very luckily, no one has lost their life.

Anyhow, my heart is heavy thinking about home these days, but lightened by these two crazy boys who surprise me with something new every day. They make it all a little more bearable, I guess.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mini Update

  1. strongblonde says:

    yea henry! 🙂
    i’ve been thinking a lot about you with this crazy weather!!!
    and wtf with labor day, btw??

    • kimbosue says:

      IDK why only the reply to an existing comment box ever is “not grayed out” for me…I tried my WP login and guest…

      I’m about to do a rain dance to send your rain to me. We need it SO.BAD. I’m glad your parents are ok. I think the Bastrop fire was the worst one of all.

  2. Sue says:

    Glad your family is OK and I hope they continue to stay safe.

Leave a Reply

