Summertime (And The Living’s Easy)

Edited to fix photo links…
Is it weird that at least once a day, I think, “Oh, I should write a post about that!” and then I never do?  Probably not.  Such is life with toddler twins.  They’re napping right now, and for the first time in a long time, I am not napping when they do, nor am I busy doing other necessary tasks.  So, here you find me. Let’s fly bullet-style today:

-The biggest change since I last posted?  My boys, my wee, tiny babies are TWO.   Two-flippin’-years-old!  I cannot believe it.  I keep coming back to this phrase, but it just sums everything up so well:  The days are long, but the years are short.  Where does time go?

Juice BreakBottom to top, that’s Henry, Jack and Papa

We had a small party for them at our local park.  I made cupcakes (they were goooood), we had some snacks, blew some bubbles, played on the playground.  Very low key and very fun.  And all of our guests were people that we met through the Book Babies program at our local library when the boys were nary a few weeks old.  It’s a group that doesn’t often manage to get together a lot these days (competing preschool schedules, different interests, etc.), so it was especially nice to spend time with these moms and kids who we’ve known for almost their whole lives.  My parents came into town for their birthday, too, and the boys were in heaven spending so much time with their grandparents.

-I finally broke down and bought a new camera.  As some of you may recall, Jack broke my Sony DSLR when he was around 8-months-old or so, and the cost to repair the camera was in the $250 range, which made it easier to consider simply investing in a new camera, especially given the speed at which technology moves.  I initially considered getting one of those newfangled changeable lens non-mirror fancy cameras, but at this point, that particular technology hasn’t managed to move quickly enough for me.  I liked the compact size combined with the great picture quality, but to get the shots I like to get, I would have needed to invest a large sum of money in lenses (which is sort of true of DSLRs, too, though DSLR lenses are cheaper and have a much wider variety at this point).  Anyhow, I got a Canon Rebel T3, which means I’m completely switching platforms and now have to buy new lenses, flashes, cases, memory cards, batteries, etc.  The good news is that Canon is popular enough that many of these items are considerably less expensive than they were for the Sony.

What camera do you use?  Any opinions on brands?.

Two quick photos with the new camera.

Henry LoungesMy Henry.

Bonk!And my Jack.

Three hours later, and I give up.  I’m just going to have to publish this as-is, or it may never see the light of day… perhaps more another day, perhaps even soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Summertime (And The Living’s Easy)

  1. Esperanza says:

    Nice to hear from you again!

    I can’t believe you got that Canon, that is the exact camera I was selling, with all my lenses, a while back. I think I sold the whole kit (dSLR, 35mm, zoom, wideangle and macro lenses) all for $699. It was a great deal – I wish I could have sold them to you! Oh, I do have a book about that camera you can have for free, it’s really nice and just sitting in my house, gathering dust. Let me know if you want it and I’ll send it your way.

    I sold my Canon to get one of those newfangled cameras you are talking about. I got the Olympus PEN EP3 and I’ve bought one amazing macro lens for it, which I adore. It’s WAY nicer than the macro on my Canon was, not sure why. You can see some of the shots I’ve been taking here.

    Glad to hear things are good with you and yours! Two is a crazy age huh? Isa is like a wild banshee these days, it’s nuts, but a lot of fun.

    Hope to hear from you again soon.

  2. Melissa says:

    Hey hey! I’ve been wondering how you and those sweet boys were! I cannot believe they are 2!!!

  3. Io says:

    Oh man, they are getting big!
    I have absolutely no camera assvice, but the pictures look good.

  4. So great to hear from you! Yes, two is crazy!!!! They look like their own people, don’t they? Would love to hear about their character similarities and differences ( being a twin – fraternal – myself).
    I have those blog post fantasies every day. Nothing gets written. The birthday party sounds very cool and laid back. Must take notes for Isobel’s birthday in THREE months!!!
    Take care, my friend! How’s your back? Aches and pains? Weird vertigo? Fainting? Hope all is well. Coxo

  5. Jenn says:

    I do not see enough pictures of these boys- they are BOYS!
    & the time to post… So feel you on that. There are days where if I eat lunch & dinner and remember to brush my teeth before I go to leave the house its a win. Time is precious and fleeting. And the days get really long, but the years truly do fly by.

  6. Christina says:

    The boys are so big now!! Good to see a post from you 🙂

  7. southcitysadie says:

    Glad to hear from you, and happy belated birthday to Jack and Henry! Age 2 with twins wasn’t as bad as age 3 has been, so make the most of it. : P

    Maybe when the girls start preschool a couple of mornings next month, I will manage to update my own blog. One really has to wonder how “mommy bloggers” find the time — oh, wait, they get PAID to keep up their blog. Never mind. : )

    Take care, Kate!

  8. strongblonde says:

    omg. 2!!!! and still so cute! 🙂
    we have the cannon and it’s been fine. a friend of mine told me about a site that you can rent lenses to try out before purchasing, i’ll check to see if i can find the link if you want it.

    and we’ll take any updates. you know my blog sucks lately. i don’t know how people update so often!!!

  9. loribeth says:

    Good to hear from you! The boys are (still!!) adorable! ; )

    I have a Canon, but it’s just a point & shoot — nothing fancy. Aside from the very first camera I ever got (from my grandmother when I was 15 — a Kodak Instamatic, lol), I have always had Canons & been quite satisfied with them. I find most people are either Canon people or Nikon people and tend to be fairly fanatic about their choice, lol.

  10. Rachel says:

    Oh my gosh, they are getting even more adorable!

  11. It’s not weird at all! I think it has been four months or so since I last posted. I think about posts I would like to write all the time and then never write them. Don’t know what is wrong with me. You are NOT the only one! Can’t believe your babies are 2. Time goes so fast! You’ll always be on my feed reader, so just post whenever you can. 🙂

  12. Sue says:

    I can’t believe how big they are – time flies!

Leave a Reply

